NX energy provide energy related services with fully accredited assessors with the maximum strand of accreditation to complete Commercial Energy Performance Certificate’s (EPCs), Display Energy Certificates (DECs) and Air-Conditioning Inspections (ACIs). Our lead assessor has previously worked with the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) on the implementation of non-residential EPCs in England and Wales.

The Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards (MEES), in the UK, are regulations implemented to enhance the energy efficiency of commercial property and reduce carbon emissions to meet UK climate change targets. In 2018 it became illegal to grant new leases for private rented commercial properties with an EPC rating below an ‘E’. From 1 April 2023, landlords may be in breach of MEES duties if they continue to let a commercial property that has an EPC rating below E (a “sub-standard property”).

The Energy Performance Certificate (EPC), which rates the energy efficiency of a building on a scale from A (most efficient) to G (least efficient). All buildings, regardless of their purpose, are required to have an EPC. The certificate provides details about the building’s energy efficiency and includes recommendations for improvements.

MEES compliance is now an important consideration during acquisition of let properties. There is a short-term exemption of six months for new owners of a property. After that, the buyer must ensure that the property complies with the MEES regulations or can claim one of the five-year exemptions, but only if appropriate.

Further changes to MEES Regulations and an escalation in energy efficiency requirements should be expected.

Services provided by NX energy

1. Energy Performance of Buildings Directive (EPBD) compliance in England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and Channel Islands
  • Commercial Energy Performance Certificates (EPC) Level 3, 4 and 5
  • Display Energy Certificates (DEC)
  • Air-conditioning Inspections (ACI or TM44) Level 3 and 4
2. Minimum Efficiency Standards (MEES) guidance.
3. Domestic EPC existing (RDSAP) and new build (SAP) certificates 
4. UK Part L Compliance
5. Energy Audits 
6. Thermal Modelling
7. ESOS compliance in England and Wales

Request a quote